Paraplanner of the Year (PPOTY)


This highly prestigious IFP award is sponsored by Parmenion and supported by Wizard Learning. This has established itself as the ultimate award for UK Paraplanners, whatever their levels of experience. It's designed to test a Paraplanner’s core knowledge and skills, and provides a platform for Paraplanners to demonstrate their all round excellence. The lucky winner will be entitled to a fantastic range of prizes, including £1,000 in cash,a place at the IFP conference in October and access to the Wizard Learning CPD system for 12 months plus online exam support for 3 years.

All Paraplanners practising in the UK are eligible to enter the competition which comprises four compulsory elements:

  • Complete the online registration form by 3 July 2015
  • Attempt the technical assessment set by Wizard Learning, which is conducted online and live 
  • Complete the creative writing section – again an essential skill for Paraplanners - by submitting a 1000 essay on your choice of two set essay topics
  • Submit a testimonial from an IFA or Financial Planner you work with to submit a recommendation outlining why they believe that you should be crowned Paraplanner of the Year.


All elements must be completed by the close at noon on 10 July 2015. 

The IFP wishes to thank the award sponsor, Parmenion whose valuable support makes this great competition possible. IFP also wishes to thank Wizard Learning who have yet again provided the technical assessment and contributed to the prizes.

The view from the top

Dan Atkinson was the 2014 IFP Paraplanner of the Year. In his blog he tells of his experience and why he would strongly encourage other Paraplanners to enter the competition this year. Read Dan's blog here

A judge's perspective

Want to find out what the judges think? Read the blog written by Patrick Ingram of Parmenion on his observations as an award judge over the past two years. Read Patrick's blog here

Registration Form

We're sorry - you've missed it for this year! Registration for this award closed on 3 July.